Technogrumbles

The Blog Which Shall Not Be Named has recently undergone some software rejiggering. This is the sort of thing I normally don’t pay much attention to. But this particular batch of tinkering has produced two results that drive me nuts. One is, of course, the “Captcha” graphic. Three times out of four, I don’t seem to be copying it right. That’s partly because I’m never sure whether those gaps in it are spaces or just typeface peculiarities, and partly because my eyesight is not what it used to be. In addition, while I’m trying to copy the graphic, my name somehow gets dropped out. This apparently happens a lot, and has produced a whole batch of Your Name posts.

In addition, the links and continuations seem not to work very well or very often. Instead, when I click on them, I wind up right back at the top of the newest post.

All of this puts me in mind of the state of liturgical music in Reform Jewish congregations (about which I can speak with some knowledge, having studied organ and been a professional chorister in earlier life.) Orthodox Jews, and most Conservative Jews, do not use musical instruments of any sort on the Sabbath, even in Sabbath services. Reform Jews, OTOH, do. But many Reform congregations, at least a couple of generations ago, were divided between older and more orthodox members, who generally made the largest financial contributions and were most active on the various committees, including the ritual committee, and the younger folks who went with more modern styles in ritual. My theory has always been that such congregations made their decisions about whether to purchase an organ by compromising between the two parties: “We’ll have an organ, and make the younger folks happy. But, to keep the old guys on the ritual committee happy, we won’t buy a very good one.”

I think perhaps the Blog Which Shall Not Be Named, which has distinctly Luddite tendencies, somewhere or other has made a decision that they will use the tools of modern communication technology—they just won’t use them very well.

Red Emma

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

